Atascocita’s Odom, Summer Creek Aguilar named District 21-6A co-Coaches of the Year –

Atascocita made school history this season winning its first district title.

The Lady Eagles were led by first year head coach Madeline Odom, who helped guide Atascocita to the District 21-6A, was named to district’s co-Coach of the Year. The 26-year-old Odom used her “Madeline Magic” to help the Lady Eagles to reach the Class 6A area round of the playoffs and finish with a 24-21 record overall.

Summer Creek’s Sarah Aguilar was also named co-Coach of the Year in the district. Aguilar led her Lady Bulldogs to a second-place finish in District 21-6A. Summer Creek made it all the way to the area round and finished the season 27-18.

Sophomore outside hitter Aspen Maxwell was named the District 21-6A Most Valuable Player.

Maxwell, who spent her second season on varsity, helped protect the net for the Lady Bulldogs this season.

Maxwell finished the season with 350 kills, 116 digs, 84 blocks, 10 aces, and seven assists for the Lady Bulldogs this season.

Atascocita’s Kayden Tanner was named the Defensive Player of the Year in District 21-6A.

Tanner had 595 digs, 78 assists, 51 aces, and eight kills for the Lady Eagles this season.

Kingwood’s Sophie Ocampo was named the Offensive Player of the Year in District 21-6A.

The University of Texas-Arlington signee finished her senior season with 413 kills, 60 blocks, 402 digs, 31 aces, and six assists for the Lady Mustangs this season.

Summer Creek senior setter Jozie Dhayer was named the Setter of the Year in District 21-6A.

Dhayer, who is a Trinity signee and four-year letterman, had 860 assists 387 digs, 44 kills, 47 aces, five blocks in her final season at Summer Creek.

Kingwood sophomore Ellie Ocampo, who is the sister of Sophie Ocampo, was named the District 21-6A Newcomer of the Year.

Ellie Ocampo finished with 413 kills, 94 digs, and 29 blocks for the Lady Mustangs, who made it to the area round this season and finished with a 26-16 overall record.

First team

Atascocita: Anna Linskey, Layla Smith, Ruthie Swain, Maddie Heisner; Summer Creek: Kaitlyn Honora, Kennedy Gustafson; Kingwood: Hannah Smith, Sydney Hicks; North Shore: Josiara Hernandez, Alexis Bowen; Beaumont West Brook: La’Robyn Ellis; C.E. King: Kristian Lewis.

Second team

Atascocita: Amya Dubose, Mia McKinney, Brooke Williams; Summer Creek: Madelyn Troy, Taylor Larkin, Yamari Thomas; Kingwood: Emma Montes, Sawyer Bryce; North Shore: Karissa Maldonado Martinez, Atria Dumas; Beaumont West Brook: Annalise Burbank, Alasia Haines; Humble: Ariana Lopez; C.E. King: Aleria Lane.

[email protected]



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Historic Downtown Conroe – Houston Chronicle
Next post Candle source of fire at Muskegon self-storage facility, blaze under investigation –